2019 Lieutenant Governor’s Medal For Excellence Call for Nominations

IPAC members are invited to nominate an exceptional individual for the 2019 IPAC Nova Scotia Lieutenant Governor’s Medal for Excellence in Public Administration.

This prestigious award recognizes exceptional achievement in public administration and encourages quality service in all orders of government. The Medal and certificate will be presented by the Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia, patron of the award on October 9th, 2019.

Eligibility requirements

A nominee should have had a significant, positive impact on the substance and/or delivery of public administration in Nova Scotia.  The award categories are:

  • Leadership;

  • Innovation and Creativity;

  • Contribution to the profession; and

  • Contribution to the community

Nominations should feature the following attributes: 

  • A unique and outstanding contribution to public administration in the federal, provincial, municipal or academic fields;

  • A contribution related to public administration as opposed to scientific or technical work; and

  • Activities related to community service and/or furthering IPAC will be considered with strong supporting evidence. 

Who cannot be nominated:
Anyone holding elected political office cannot be nominated while holding office. Members of the Awards & Recognition Committee cannot be nominated.

How to nominate someone

Anyone may nominate a person for the award. As well, the IPAC Awards Committee considers the nominations from the one preceding year during its review.
The nomination package should include:

  1. Nomination form and summary that includes contact information for both the nominee and the nominator; a list of the nominee’s education, experience and credentials; and a brief summary that outlines the reasons for the nomination in reference to the categories (two pages maximum).

  2. Statements supporting the nomination from at least two references.

  3. Supporting documentation, as appropriate (newspaper articles, citations, etc.).

Nominations will be kept in strict confidence. 


  • 2018 - Millie Colburne, CEO Breton Ability Centre

  • 2016 - Louis Coutinho, CAO Town of Windsor - Release

  • 2015 - Rosalind Penfound, VP Nova Scotia Community College

  • 2014 - Dr. Colin Dodds, President St. Mary’s University

  • 2013 - Faith G. Scattolon, Regional Director General, Department of Fisheries and Oceans

  • 2012 - Dr. Paul Brown, Professor, Dalhousie University - Release

  • 2011 - Kenneth R. B. Simpson, Executive Director, NS Federation of Municipalities (awarded posthumously)

  • 2010 - Robert Fowler, retired Clerk of the Nova Scotia Executive Council

  • 2009 - Howard Windsor, retired Clerk of the Nova Scotia Executive Council

  • 2008 - Assistant Commissioner Ian Atkins, Royal Canadian Mounted Police

  • 2007 - Shulamith Medjuck, formerly with Department of Community Services

  • 2006 - Robert (Bob) MacKay, Former Deputy Minister, Province of Nova Scotia

  • 2005 - David M. Cameron, Dalhousie University

  • 2004 - Gordon Gillis, Former Deputy Minister, Province of Nova Scotia; Wynne Potter, Former Vice-President, Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency

  • 2003 - William (Bill) Hogg, Former Deputy Minister, Province of Nova Scotia

  • 2002 - Harvey Lawrence (Larry) Doane, Halifax-Dartmouth Bridge Commission

  • 2001 - Jacquelyn Thayer Scott, University College of Cape Breton

  • 2000 - Keith Robicheau, Municipality of the County of Annapolis

  • 1999 - Peter Aucoin, Dalhousie University

  • 1998 - Jerry Ryan, Cape Breton Regional Municipality

  • 1998 - Fred MacKinnon, Senior Citizens Secretariat

  • 1997 - Bill Hamilton, Town of Bridgetown

  • 1996 - Kenneth Ozmon, Saint Mary's University

  • 1995 - Neil Roberts, QEII

  • 1994 - David Parks, Canadian Coast Guard

  • 1993 - Jack Novack, Dalhousie University

  • 1992 - Donald Murphy, City of Halifax

  • 1991 - Emery Fanjoy, Council of Maritime Premiers

  • 1990 - Carmen Moir, Nova Scotia Department of Community Services

  • 1989 - Sherman Zwicker, Union of Nova Scotia Municipalities

  • 1987 - Clifford Moir, City of Dartmouth

  • 1986 - Kel Antoft, Dalhousie University

IPAC Nova Scotia