The Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Excellence in Public Administration


Update: Nominations closed on Friday, September 13, 2019.

The Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Excellence in Public Administration is awarded annually to a public sector practitioner whose contributions to public administration exhibits the highest standard of excellence, dedication and accomplishment.

This prestigious award recognizes exceptional achievement in public administration and encourages quality service in all orders of government. The Medal and certificate will be presented by the Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia, patron of the award on October 24th, 2019 at 2:00 p.m. at Government House. Past recipients and IPAC Members in good standing may attend the ceremony using, however RSVP is required as seating is limited.


Eligibility Criteria

  • The Lieutenant Governor’s Medal of Distinction in Public Administration is considered one of Nova Scotia’s highest honours for public service. It is presented annually by the Lieutenant Governor to an individual who has displayed dedication, commitment, and leadership in the field of public administration in Nova Scotia. Current or former practitioners from any level of government and public sector agencies, boards and commissions, teachers or students of public administration are eligible for nomination.

  • Service in any field of public administration, including work of an administrative or professional nature, is considered relevant. Professional contributions should relate to administrative and management activities rather than a scientific or technical activities.

  • Federal Government employees are eligible for consideration for the award, but the focus of their work must have been primarily in Nova Scotia.

  • Executive members of the Institute of Public Administration of Canada, whether national or regional, are not eligible to receive the Medal while holding office.

  • Persons actively engaged in politics, although they may have shown distinctive leadership in public administration or made outstanding contributions thereto, are not eligible to receive the Medal.

  • Nominations can be submitted by members and non-members of IPAC. Self-nominations will also be accepted.  All nominations must meet the nominations requirements outlined below.

Selection Process

Nominations will be evaluated by the IPAC Awards & Recognition Selection Committee using the following four criteria:  

  • Leadership

  • Innovation and Creativity

  • Contribution to the Profession

  • Contribution to the Community

Nominations remain eligible for consideration for a period of two years, including the year of nomination.


The nomination package should include the following:

  1. Nomination form and summary: include contact information for the nominee and the nominator(s); a list of what is included in the package; and a brief summary that outlines the reasons for the nomination including the nominee’s educational background, positions held, civic and professional involvement (two pages maximum).

  2. Statements or References (optional): letters from at least two persons in support of the nomination.

The Committee will make its judgment solely on the basis of the information received and will not seek additional information about any of the nominees. Therefore, it is advantageous to submit a full and complete package of information as outlined in the package requirement list.

  • Nominators will be notified in writing of the decision of the Selection Committee.

Key dates

  • Nominations open: Monday, June 10, 2019.

  • Deadline: Nominations closed on Friday, September 13, 2019.

  • Award Ceremony: October 24, 2019, at 2:00pm. IPAC Members in good standing may register here to attend the event. We ask that individuals please register by September 23, 2019.

Past Winners

  • 2018 - Millie Colburne, CEO Breton Ability Centre

  • 2016 - Louis Coutinho, CAO Town of Windsor - Release

  • 2015 - Rosalind Penfound, VP Nova Scotia Community College

  • 2014 - Dr. Colin Dodds, President St. Mary’s University

  • 2013 - Faith G. Scattolon, Regional Director General, Department of Fisheries and Oceans

  • 2012 - Dr. Paul Brown, Professor, Dalhousie University - Release

  • 2011 - Kenneth R. B. Simpson, Executive Director, NS Federation of Municipalities (awarded posthumously)

  • 2010 - Robert Fowler, retired Clerk of the Nova Scotia Executive Council

  • 2009 - Howard Windsor, retired Clerk of the Nova Scotia Executive Council

  • 2008 - Assistant Commissioner Ian Atkins, Royal Canadian Mounted Police

  • 2007 - Shulamith Medjuck, formerly with Department of Community Services

  • 2006 - Robert (Bob) MacKay, Former Deputy Minister, Province of Nova Scotia

  • 2005 - David M. Cameron, Dalhousie University

  • 2004 - Gordon Gillis, Former Deputy Minister, Province of Nova Scotia; Wynne Potter, Former Vice-President, Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency

  • 2003 - William (Bill) Hogg, Former Deputy Minister, Province of Nova Scotia

  • 2002 - Harvey Lawrence (Larry) Doane, Halifax-Dartmouth Bridge Commission

  • 2001 - Jacquelyn Thayer Scott, University College of Cape Breton

  • 2000 - Keith Robicheau, Municipality of the County of Annapolis

  • 1999 - Peter Aucoin, Dalhousie University - Release

  • 1998 - Jerry Ryan, Cape Breton Regional Municipality

  • 1998 - Fred MacKinnon, Senior Citizens Secretariat

  • 1997 - Bill Hamilton, Town of Bridgetown

  • 1996 - Kenneth Ozmon, Saint Mary's University

  • 1995 - Neil Roberts, QEII

  • 1994 - David Parks, Canadian Coast Guard

  • 1993 - Jack Novack, Dalhousie University

  • 1992 - Donald Murphy, City of Halifax

  • 1991 - Emery Fanjoy, Council of Maritime Premiers

  • 1990 - Carmen Moir, Nova Scotia Department of Community Services

  • 1989 - Sherman Zwicker, Union of Nova Scotia Municipalities

  • 1987 - Clifford Moir, City of Dartmouth

  • 1986 - Kel Antoft, Dalhousie University